my scrapbook pages and thoughts

Change the colour challenge

Todays challenge over at CKC is to change the colour! This is a wonderful challenge and for those of you working on using up your stash, a perfect idea! I liked this so much, I’m going to do more.

I first started with the stamp set I used to counterfeit the pharmacy labels. This time I stamped them and used different colour inks to change the colour as well as different colour papers. Here is what I tried.

different colour inks and papers

different colour inks and papers

I then did the same thing with this adorable little owl. Look how cute he is.

different inks for this little owl

different inks for this little owl

Next I decided to tackle that naked chipboard we all have in our stash. I took a bunch of different pieces, a bunch of different items to change the colour, and here’s how it turned out.

before

before


after

after


The gold mist on the star was super easy, its not a solid finish, but I really like it, going to try to do a few more pieces with mists.
The glitter heart is my favorite, for sure going to do some more pieces in glitter. The stickles cloud turned out ok, I would do it again, but I’d paint the cloud first I think, then add stickles on top.
The other things were super easy, and with paints, markers, inks on hand, so easy to colour up a few items.

Then I decided to try the same thing on some wood veneer.

wood veneer

wood veneer


look how well these turned out!
love the way these turned out!

love the way these turned out!


I’m happy with the way these turned out, and I know I’m far more likely to use them now as well.
I took these little bits of goodness and put them onto a layout using my November kit of course. I am really pleased to say, I used those prima flowers! Yes I did. I used a lot on this layout including the little blue bird and the gorgeous glitter heart!
colour change layout

colour change layout


and here’s a few close ups
little glitter bird

little glitter bird


this one shows a counterfeit enamel dot. I make these all the time, just have them made up ready to go. I didn’t include them on the tutorial because I believe there already is one on here from awhile back. If you would like one though, just let me know. They are super simple, and cheap!
little bit of lace added to the jar, and counterfeit enamel dot.

little bit of lace added to the jar, and counterfeit enamel dot.


And then here’s a close up of the glitter heart. I love this. I love it so much I am going to make more.
glitter heart

glitter heart


I hope you will try some of these techniques too. So simple to do, and a great thing to do one of those night when you just don’t have the urge to make a layout, but you want to do something. Haul out your veneers, your naked chipboard (I know you have some!) your paints, mists, glitter, washi, whatever you like and change the colour. For me, I am far more likely to use say, a green arrow, than I am to use these items I’ve had kicking around for years. Have fun!!

Comments on: "Change the colour challenge" (3)

  1. Total fave? The wood veneers with Distress Stain – swoon…
    VERY close second? Def the glitter heart!
    Great page, too.

  2. Oh my. That little touch of lace is perfect!

  3. Love to use my Inks and Stickles to my wood veneers. Been doing it forever it seems. I often don’t ink my veneers first. What bothered me when I first started using Stickles how the glitter would fracture on the wood. Glossy accents to the rescue to seal! Maybe I am weird….lately I seem to prefer both chipboard to be bare and veneers to be natural.

Leave a Reply

